SWALE JOINT TRANSPORTATION BOARD MONDAY 18th JUNE 2012

Subject:	Amendment to the Swale Joint Transportation Board Agreement
Director/Head of Service:	Director of Highways, Kent County Council
Decision Issues:	These matters are within the authority of the Kent County Council
Decision:	Non-key
Ward/KCC Division:	All
Summary:	This report is for Members' information and advises about amendments being made to the Swale Joint Transportation Board Agreement

Classification:

Introduction

- 1. At the last meeting of Swale JTB County Councillor Mr Bowles advised that he had attended a meeting of Swale Area KALC on 5th March 2012, where it had been proposed that three Kent Association of Local Council (KALC) members sit on the Swale JTB, one from each area Faversham, Sittingbourne, Isle of Sheppey. The Chairman of the Swale Area KALC meeting, David Brazier, had endorsed this change which is an increase from the current arrangement of two KALC members.
- 2. Consequently, the First Schedule of the Swale Agreement on Joint Transportation Boards is currently being revised to state the following:

Membership

Clause 2.1

JTB membership will comprise all KCC local members for divisions in the

Council's area an equal number of members appointed by the Council and two

three representatives of the Parish and Town Councils within the district. The

Council may appoint substitutes for its Members.

Unrestricted

Clause 2.2

The Parish and Town Council representatives will be nominated by the Area Committee of the Kent Association of Local Councils or other representative body for Parish Councils within the district if this provides a more complete representation a substitute member may also be nominated. The Parish or Town Council representatives may speak but may neither vote nor propose a motion nor an amendment.

Recommendations

1. This report is for Members information

Contact Officer:

Alan Blackburn Swale District Manager 08458 247800